Plenary Speakers

Daniel Dolfi

Dr. Daniel Dolfi (Thales Research & Technology, France)

“A roadmap for high performance integrated MWP circuits”

Daniel Dolf graduated from the “Ecole Supérieure d’Optique”, Orsay, (1986), received the PhD degree from University Paris XI Orsay (1993) and the “Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches” in 2008. He joined Thomson-CSF Corporate Research Laboratory (now Thales Research & Technology-France) in 1986 where he is currently Director of the Physics Dept. His main research interests include optoelectronic generation and processing of microwave and THz signals, non-linear optics in fibers, opto-electronic devices (down to nano-scale) and sub-systems (e.g. sensors, beam steering), active optronic systems (lidars and imaging systems), superconductor based microwave devices, graphene based optoelectronics and photonic integrated circuits based architectures for lidars and radars, quantum sensing and processing for RF and optronic systems. Dr Dolfi has about 100 publications in refereed journals, about 130 communications in international conferences and about 70 registered patents. He received Thales Innovation Award in 93, 96, 2000 and 2016. He has been President of the SFO (French Optical Society), board member of EOS (European Optical Society) and served as member of the Scientific Committee of international conferences (e.g CLEO, CLEO Europe, IEEE MWP, Europhoton,…). He is EOS Fellow, OSA Fellow and IEEE Senior member.)

Iwao Hosako

Dr. Iwao Hosako (NICT – National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan)

“Technologies for Beyond-5G/6G mobile communication systems”

Iwao Hosako received his Ph.D. from the University of Tokyo in 1993. After two years with NKK Corp’s ULSI Laboratory from 1993 to 1994, he joined Communications Research Laboratory (former name of NICT). He is currently the Executive Director of the Beyond 5G Research and Development Promotion Unit and the Terahertz Research Center at the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT), Japan. His research focuses on terahertz band semiconductor devices, cameras, and wireless systems. He was the Vice-Chair of the IEEE 802.15.3d Task Group and is currently the Vice-Chair of the IEEE 802.15 Standing Committee Terahertz (SC-THz). He was serving as a working group member of the Beyond 5G (6G) Promotion Strategy Roundtable of the Ministry of Internal affairs and Communications, Japan from Jan. 2020 to Jun. 2020.


Dr. Alessio Rocchi (INFN, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Italy)

“Detection of Gravitational Waves with photonics”

Alessio Rocchi earned the PhD degree at the University of Rome Tor Vergata in 2004 and became “Primo Ricercatore” at Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare in 2019. His primary scientific interest is the study of cosmic sources of gravitational waves and the realization of instruments to observe them. During his research career, he dealt with superconducting electronics and quantum-limited amplifiers based on dc Superconducting Quantum Interference Devices, adaptive optical systems, laser beam shaping techniques, quantum optics, thermal noise in high reflectivity coatings for interferometric detectors and data filtering algorithms. Author and co-author of more than 250 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals, he carried out his research activity at CERN, Caltech, Leiden University and Adelaide University. Member of the Virgo Collaboration, he has served as Commissioning Coordinator and Run Coordinator (from 2017 to 2019) and, at present, he holds the positions of chair of the LIGO-Virgo-KAGRA Joint Run Planning Committee and chair of the Wavefront Sensing and Control work package within the Einstein Telescope Instrument Science Board. Dr. Rocchi was awarded with the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics and the Gruber Cosmology Prize in 2016 and with the Albert Einstein Medal in 2017. Fellow of the Società Italiana di Fisica.

Jianping Yao

Prof. Jianping Yao (University of Ottawa, Canada)

“Microwave photonic systems”

Jianping Yao (Fellow, IEEE) is a Distinguished University Professor and University Research Chair in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. He received the PhD degree in electrical engineering from the University of Toulon in 1997. He is currently Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Photonics Technology Letters and an Advisory Editorial Board Member of Optics Communications. He is an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Photonics Society. Dr. Yao has published over 650 papers including over 380 in refereed journals and 270 in conference proceedings. Dr. Yao was an IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer from 2013 to 2015 through which he delivered over 30 lectures or tutorials on Microwave Photonics in over 10 countries or regions. Dr. Yao received the 2017-2018 Award for Excellence in Research of the University of Ottawa and was the recipient of the 2018 R.A. Fessenden Award from IEEE Canada. Dr. Yao is a Fellow of IEEE (2012), the Optical Society of America (OSA) (2010), the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) (2012), and the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) (2018).

Organized by

Supported by

Technically sponsored by

Sponsored by